Category Archives: Orangeism

Laying the Foundation Stone of Carleton Street Orange Hall

Laying the Foundation Stone of Carleton Street Orange Hall

The foundation stone of Carleton Street Orange Hall was laid on 1st July 1872.  This particular moment in history has led to nearly 150 years worth of local heritage in Carleton Street Orange Hall.

The weather was quite poor on that particular day but it did not affect the proceedings of the ceremony.  The ceremony was described as being “performed in a manner worthy of the occasion”.

Arrival

Just after noon, the ‘Country Lodges’ and spectators marched into Portadown.  The Orange Lodges had agreed to meet at 1:00pm ‘on the green’ where the hall would be built in Carleton Street.  From that hour until shortly before 3:00pm, processions of the Brethren were continuously arriving.

Below is a list of the Lodges and their Worshipful Masters who were present.

  • LOL 7 – R Ruddock
  • LOL 8- H Mercer
  • LOL 9- Thomas Hoy
  • LOL 10- B Donnelly
  • LOL 13- R Budd
  • LOL 20- William Dyner
  • LOL 25- George Sherman
  • LOL 31- J Cooke
  • LOL 40 – James Taylor
  • LOL 56 – W J Locke
  • LOL 58 – Albert Groabie
  • LOL 78- Thomas Wright
  • LOL 81- John Little
  • LOL 89- George Robinson
  • LOL 99- William G Dowey
  • LOL 107- Malcolmson Moffet
  • LOL 172- Rev C K Owen
  • LOL 417 – J Patton
  • LOL 1301- W J Sullivan

Platform

Each Lodge carried their banner.  The banners were described in local newspaper reports as ‘without exception of rich quality and chaste design’.  There was a platform set up at the site of the new hall.  A large union flag in the centre, and one in each corner, where flown from the tower of St Marks Parish Church.  During the early part of the afternoon the bells of the church were rung in honour of the occasion.

The platform party consisted of; Stewart Blacker Esq, Rev C K Irwin, Rev A J Are, Rev James Patton, Rev S Sullivan, Rev H W Left, Baroness Von Steglitz, Miss Belcher, Miss Stead, Mrs Sullivan, Miss McNally, Miss Crosslee, Miss Kate Carleton, Mr Thomas Carleton Esq, Dr Stuart W Hall Esq, Mr J Boyd Esq, R Pepper Esq, Mrs Pepper and  Brother James Ruddock (D.M).

Proceedings

The proceedings began with Stewart Blacker stating that “they always commenced their proceedings with prayer and in reading a portion of scripture”.  Reverend Irwin led the opening prayers while Reverend Patton read the 67th Psalm.

Stewart Blacker then began his speech.  He welcomed all those present and paid tribute to the occasion and all the Brethren of Portadown Orange District.

” There is no District in the whole Orange Institution that holds such a historical place as the good district of Portadown”

– Stewart Blacker

 

Major Stewart Blacker

Mr Blacker also paid tribute to the formation of the Orange Order and the first Grand Master. His uncle, Colonel William Blacker.  He was immensely proud of this.  Stewart Blacker then proceeded to show the crowd William Blacker’s Orange Sash. It had represented his position as Grand Master.  The sash was described as ‘rather worse for wear, and rather faded’ but he went on to say that “it was worn by an honest-hearted Protestant, and will always be held by true Protestants as a genuine relic”.  Stewart Blacker then produced an orange gown that had been worn by William Blacker’s wife, Anne.  This was well received with laughter and applause by the crowd and there was three cheers given for the ladies.

Stewart Blacker then continued his speech by stating his hopes and expectations of the Portadown Orange Hall.

“In a Hall of our own we can meet comfortably and well, and ask our friends to it and speak our sentiments, and hear our minister of the various evangelical denomination.  We can form a common platform of which Protestantism and the holy scriptures are the base of the foundations.  We have often been spoken against because the poor and the humble man goes to the public house, but every poor and humble man has not got a large and fashionable club to receive him, and when he has been toiling and working, he is obliged to go somewhere to get refreshment.  It is not the fault of of our institution; but by having an Orange Hall we can have a meeting place for men of all tastes for the principles of our Orange Lodges.”

– Stewart Blacker

The Belfast Newsletter 2nd July 1872

 

He finished his speech with the words;

“Put your trust in God, my boys, and keep your powder dry”

Inspiration for an Orange Hall

The inspiration for building Carleton Street Orange Hall began in Canada. Stewart Blacker visited Canada in July 1870.  He was astonished and delighted by the Orange Order in Canada. They had beautiful halls and other buildings that were used for not just meetings but also large orange orphan institutions.

One particular building in Toronto used the main body for meetings, but it also had two great wings, referred to as ‘Orange Wings’.  Within those wings of the building there was the Orange Institutions aged members and those who were past work.  There was many advantages for the Orange Order in Toronto having this facility.  One of the main advantages was that it meant their members were kept out of the poor house.

 

Laying the Foundation Stone

The official laying of the foundation stone was initiated when The Portadown Protestant Brass Band played “The Protestant Boys”.  The Baroness Von Stieglitz was Called upon to officially lay the stone.  Mr J Boyd from Belfast was the architect of the hall and he presented the Baroness with a silver trowel for the purpose of the occasion.

The silver trowel was supplied by ‘Messrs, Trelford and Co’ from Donegall Place Belfast. It had the following inscription:

‘Presented by the Orangemen of the District of Portadown to the Baroness Von Stieglitz of Carrickblacker on the occasion of her laying the first stone of Portadown Orange Hall, July 1st 1872’

Rev W Lett, from Bessbrook, read the dedication prayer and then the stone was lowered into place. The Baroness tapped the stone and declared it ‘duly laid in the name of the Father, Son and the Holy Ghost’.  The foundation stone was a corner stone.

Who was Baroness Von Stieglitz?

 

Hester Anne Von Stieglitz (Nee Blacker)

Hester Anne Blacker was Stewart Blacker’s sister.  Hester Anne married Baron Fredrick Von Stieglitz.  He was a descendant of an aristocratic family from Pilsen, Bohemia.  The family had settled in Cookstown, County Tyrone in 1802.  The Baron emigrated from there to Australia where he married.  He returned to Ireland on the death of his first wife.  He married Hester Anne in 1859.

The Baron died in 1866 and the couple had no children.  Baroness Von Stieglitz then devoted much of her life to Seagoe Parish Church and took a keen interest in the local community and people.

The Baroness was instilled with a great interest in the Orange Order and she often attended the Twelfth demonstrations with her uncle, Colonel William Blacker.

This interest led Hester Anne to donate money for the building of Carleton Street Orange Hall.  The other major contributors towards the Orange Hall were Major Stewart Blacker and Miss Kate Carleton.

The Baroness also leased land at Seagoe for the building of an Orange Hall by Seagoe LOL 26.

 

 

 

 

 

Portadown Arches: Parkmount and Corcrain

Portadown Arches: Parkmount and Corcrain

An Arch to be proud of: Parkmount

It is believed an arch was first opened in Parkmount in the 1920’s, although it could have been earlier. It stood at the junction of Park Road and Water Street.

 

Parkmount Flute Band under the Arch in approximately the 1920’s

Parkmount Arch 1945

The second Parkmount Arch was opened in July 1945.  Many leading members of Portadown District LOL No. 1 were present including Brother Herbert Whitten who presided over the opening ceremony and Brother R J Magowan who acted as Chairman.  Brother George Dougan, who was a well respected Doctor of the town, as well as the Portadown District Master at the time, switched on the lights at the official ceremony.

Dr Dougan received acclamation during the opening ceremony of the arch on his recent election victory.  In turn he thanked the crowd and paid tribute to the members of Parkmount Flute Band who had rendered assistance during the campaign.  George Dougan was MP for central Armagh.  He was elected to Stormont in March 1941, replacing David Graham Shillington.

 

Parkmount Arch 

 

The Present Arch

The present Parkmount Arch has been refurbished and repainted many times as it has been attacked by republicans. The latest refurbishment took place in 2014, one side of the Arch reads ‘In memory of the Parkmount Community’ while the other side reads ‘In Memory of Bro Ivan Forbes’, who was a tireless worker for the Arch.

 

 

 

 

An Arch of the Past: Corcrain

The Corcrain Arch was officially opened in June 1937.  It was a magnificent structure of wood and steel, and the decorations were described as ‘artistic’.  The sixty foot span was comprised of three arch-ways which harmonised in colour and size.  The arch contained various symbols of the Orange and Black Orders.

The Arch was completed by Mr Fred Mccullough of Corcrain and Mr A Murphy carried out the painting.  Members of the Arch Committee were; Mr John Wright Junior, Mr Thomas Gilpin, Mr William Thompson, Mr David Hamill, Mr Robert Burns and Mr James Fleming.

Corcrain Arch

The Opening

A large parade of Orangemen, including the Junior Orange, were led by Corcrain Flute Band who provided the music throughout the ceremony. The opening was performed by Mrs Woods under the Chairmanship of Brother David Rock.

David Rock MBE JP held office in Portadown District LOL NO 1 and was a member of LOL 56.  He had been a District Commandant of the Ulster Special Constabulary in Portadown.

Portadown Arches: Mourneview Street and Queen Street

Portadown Arches: Mourneview Street and Queen Street

The Arches of Mouneview Street and Queen Street provide a great sense of pride and community to local residents.  One thing that has become clear through our journey of discovering the heritage of the local Arches, is the amount of time and effort local residents give to the Arches. The members of the different Arches committees’ throughout the town deserve a lot of recognition for maintaining this great tradition.

Mourneview Street Arch Official Opening

Mourneview Street Arch was unveiled in July 1939 by Sir Knight Alex Adair, District Master of Portadown Royal Black Chapter. The majority of the arch was designed and constructed by Mr Wilson Binks.  The old English lettering of the inscriptions and the glass panels were completed by Mr Joseph Wright.  During the speeches at the opening, both men where congratulated on their success.

The weather conditions were particularly poor for the opening ceremony.  But that did not dampen the spirits of over 1000 people who gathered to witness the official opening.

Portadown Pipe Band and Edgarstown Accordion Band provided the music for the evening. The proceedings of the evening was led by Sir Knight and Brother R J Magowan, Worshipful Master of Edenderry LOL 322.

“It’s Lovely!”

“Isn’t it nice!”

“The Colouring and lettering are beautiful”

‘These exclamations are typical of what a bystander heard at the unveiling of Mourneview Street Arch on Thursday evening last’.

Portadown Times 14th July 1939

 

It is interesting and very appropriate to note that no fewer than nine members of the committee had the first name William; William Baxter, William (Billy) Cooper, William (Billy) Whitten Junior, William Taylor, William (Billy) Magee, William Baxter Junior, William McKeown, William Power Senior and William Power Junior.

The other members of the committee were Teddy Grimason, Arthur Magee, George Whitten, George Hodgen and George Magee.

Queen Street Arch

In 1983, a few of the local residents on the street had the idea of erecting their own Arch at the Thomas Street entrance.  A Committee was formed and a collection was made in the neighbourhood.  Planning permission was requested and granted.

An arch shed was built to store the Arch throughout the year.  The building of the shed was done on a voluntary basis mainly by Mr Paul Trouton, Mr Trevor Bonis, Mr Brian Beattie and a few others.

The Arch was sourced from the Derryadd area; one that was no longer in use.  It was then adapted in size as the steel was too short.  The steel poles were made to measure locally. The wooden structure was built to suit by residents from the street; mainly Mr Paul Trouton and Mr Trevor Bonis.

It was then painted by local residents Mr Paul Trouton, Mr Trevor Bonis and Mr Brian Beattie.  The artwork was completed by Mr Neville Austin and the electric work was completed by Mr George Trouton.  The lettering was done by a local sign-writer Mr Bracken Anderson.

Official Opening

The Queen Street Arch was officially opened on 28th June 1985 by local MP Mr Harold McCusker and dedicated by the Reverend Tom Taylor.

Portadown Defenders Flute Band provided the music during the opening ceremony and a reception was held in the Trouton Household for the dignitaries.

Maintaining the Arch

The Arch was maintained for the first fifteen years by a collection from the residents of the street, but unfortunately due to the change in the population of the area this became unfeasible.

The Arch has been put up each year since with the goodwill of the Trouton family and friends and with the kind help of The Beattie family; who look after the shed and supply the electricity.  It has been refurbished a number of times during its almost thirty five year existence.

 

Portadown Arches: Derryanvil

Portadown Arches: Derryanvil

Derryanvil Arch is located under a mile from Drumcree Parish Church.  As it is in the countryside of Portadown, it is often forgot and overlooked when it comes to the Arches of Portadown.  But the local rural community in the area are very proud of “their wee arch”.

Original Arch

An early arch was originally erected near Derrycarne Orange Hall.  According to the older generation of the area, the last time it had been up, was sometime in the 1930’s.  The old arch had been a wooden structure and was originally stored in Mr George Robinson’s hay shed.

Derrycarne Orange Hall

“It’s time we had an arch again”

In the winter of 1962, Alex Hyde and William Dillworth had a conversation about the old arch.  It was decided they would paint and restore the old arch and put it up the next July. The decision was made that instead of putting it up at the old location on the Derrycarne Road , it would be moved 2 miles to the small community at Derryanvil Crescent.  In July 1962 it was erected at the new location.  It was very much a community effort with Mr Tom Troughton and neighbours all involved.

New Arch

The Following year, in 1963, the community decided they would invest in a new metal frame arch as the old wooden arch was falling in to disrepair. Mr Tom Troughton made a new frame from box metal.  Mr William Dillworth was a great artist and he was able to draw the symbols needed for the arch.  William knew of a gentleman named Albert Drummond who was skilled at cutting figures out of sheet metal.  Once the symbols were cut, they went back to William who painted them in preparation for going on the Arch.

Opening of the New Arch

The new arch was opened on 2nd July 1963 by Herbert Whitten.  Mr Whitten was a member of the Orange Order and Royal Black Institution.  He was Worshipful Master of Portadown District LOL NO.1 from 1968 until his death in 1981.  He also held the office of Deputy Grand Master of Ireland and was Worshipful District Master of Portadown Royal Black District Chapter No.5 in the early 1960’s.

Mr Whiitten was elected to Portadown Borough Council in 1968 and was MP for Central Armagh at Stormont from 1969 until 1972.  He held office of Mayor in Portadown Borough Council from 1968-1969 and was Mayor of Craigavon Borough Council from 1977 until 1978.  He was a founding member of Portadown Housing Association and was Managing Director of T A Shillington and Sons from 1955 until his retirement in 1979.

The music for the opening of the arch was provided by Pride of the Birches Accordion Band.  The refreshments were served by the ladies of Derryanvil Crescent who had all come together to make and provide sandwiches, cakes, buns and tea.

Continuing Tradition

The Arch was improved each year by adding new metal symbols from Albert Drummond and William Dillworth.  A bonfire was originally part of the celebrations on the 11th night.  It was located in a nearby field until new bungalows were built.  The Bonfire was then moved  to the rear of Derryanvil Crescent in the 1980’s.

Unfortunately, with Derryanvill Crescent being located under a mile from Drumcree Parish Church, the annual bonfire had to be stopped in 1996 due to the stand off at Drumcree.

Drumcree Parish Church

The arch was unable to go up for two years during the early 2000’s this was due to insurance issues.  This was overcome when Derrycarne Bible and Crown Defenders LOL 78 stepped in and provided the insurance costs.

The final metal attachment was made by Albert Drummond.  It is the Bible and Crown located in the centre of the arch. It was painted by William Dillworth.  Sadly, Mr Drummond died shortly after making the Bible and Crown.

The Arch is erected every year at Derryanvil Crescent.  There is a strong unionist and Orange community in the local area including; Derryanvil, Derrycarne and Derrymacfall.  That community is very proud to have the arch displayed as a long standing tradition of their beliefs and culture.

 

Carleton Street Orange Hall is not your average Orange Museum….

Carleton Street Orange Hall is not your average Orange Museum….

Thinking of a visit to Carleton Street Orange Hall? It’s not your average Orange Museum….

Is your Lodge or Organisation looking somewhere a bit different to visit? Well Portadown Heritage Tours can offer you that very opportunity!

Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre is a unique opportunity which just so happens to be right at home in the Orange Citadel.  The foundation stone for this iconic building was laid on the present site in 1873 and was opened in 1875.

Carleton Street Orange Hall

Tour Packages with a difference.

Portadown Heritage Tours host tour packages to this iconic Orange Hall.  The Hall is fitted with i-Beacon Technology the first of its kind in any tourist building in Northern Ireland, thanks to Ballymena based company Brilliant Trails. This technology means the hall is fully equipped with an audio tour which works through the Portadown Heritage Tours app. Each room within the Hall is named after an Orangeman of Portadown District who had a great influence in the development of Portadown as a town.

We provide visitors with an iPad to use for the duration of their visit. Visitors can take their time exploring the rooms while listening to the rooms historical significance.  If your not comfortable working technology, don’t worry! We have tour guides on hand to offer guidance during your visit.

Group and Lodge Packages available.

Friendly Tour Guides on hand!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

During your visit..

Our Lodge and Group Packages include the Audio Tour of the Hall along with very tasty refreshments and a room to hold your meeting in.  Portadown Heritage Tours provide guides who are Community Tour Guides.  We are a unique organisation in this sense. We are all local people telling the local stories that make up Portadown’s history and heritage!   Although all the guides are trained to WorldHost Standard, we definitely like to have the ‘craic’ along the way.

Why we highly recommend a visit to Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre!

Orange Heritage is definitely making its mark on the local tourism scene throughout Northern Ireland.  But Carleton Street Orange Hall is not your normal Orange Museum!  The Orange Culture itself is very much alive and vibrant no matter what view you may have of it.  Therefore the approach that Portadown Heritage Tours have took towards our tours of the Hall is very simple.  We have opened the doors of this iconic Hall so that absolutely everyone can come and explore the Orange Culture first hand in an actual Orange Hall.

Every room is part of the Heritage Centre in its own right. There is artefacts and documents on display in every single room.  But those rooms are still actively used by all sorts of organisations of the Loyal Orders, Bands and Community Groups.  We have took the term ‘Living History’ to a whole new level.  Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre is by no means just an Orange Museum. This iconic Hall is a living history showcase of the Orange Families Culture; past, present and future.  The hall is an absolute must see within the Orange Heritage sites of County Armagh, make it your first stop!

Bell Room Photo credit: Tony Hendron

Whitten Room Photo Credit: Tony Hendron

Our Positive Reviews

Our Visitors book is busting with positive reviews. Visitors are genuinely blown away from the minute they step inside Carleton Street Orange Hall.  The first thing that will catch your attention is the iconic tilled floor of the hallway.  After that, room after room will surprise you.  We estimate an hour and a half for the tour of the hall, but you could easily get lost in its history for hours.

Thank you to you all for such an interesting afternoon.  The whole group absolutely loved it and we were all fascinated by different aspects of it.  The passion you all have for the history and culture of Portadown was evident and thank you for sharing it with us.

Ann

Book Now!

To Book a visit to Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre contact the Portadown Heritage Tours office on 028 38332010 or email shout@portadownheritagetours.co.uk.  For Lodges and Organisations we can build and mould a tour package that suits the needs of your group.

A Successful Orange Heritage Week 2018 in Portadown

A Successful Orange Heritage Week 2018 in Portadown

We Brought Orange Heritage Home to the Orange Citadel!

Futures Bright for Orange Heritage

Orange Heritage Week saw the release of our audio tours, using i-Beacon technology, the first of its kind in any tourist building in Northern Ireland.

 

The kids treasure trail was a big success and proved that Orange Heritage Week can be enjoyed by all ages.  The kids were given free rain of the hall and they throughly enjoyed their time exploring it and discovering a little bit of history along the way.  They enjoyed finding the treasure and their party afterwards with juice and treats.

Release of our Exhibitions

We had three Exhibitions open during Orange Heritage Week.  These included Portadown Orangemen on the Western Front, Orange & Industry and Drumcree: 20 Years on.  The exhibitions displayed local history and its connections to Orange Heritage within the town. Love it or hate it, theres no doubt about it, Orange Heritage runs deep into the history of Portadown.  The exhibitions took a while to get through, with visitors coming back over a couple of days to explore them.

 

Band Performances & Public Talks

We would like to say a big thank you to Star of David Accordion band for their open concert they performed on the Monday night.  It showcased the week nicely, highlighting the importance of music throughout Orange Heritage.  Also a big thank you to Historian Robert Wallace for his two very interesting talks on ‘The Williamite Wars in the European Context’ and ‘The Palaces of William and Mary’.  Both proved a very good insight into the beginnings of the Orange Culture and history.  Link Below for a short video of the bands performance.

IMG_6339

 

Spooky Times Ahead..

We have Ghost Tours running throughout October! To kick those of we had our first Ghost Tour of the season during Orange Heritage Week.  This proved very popular and we hope everyone had a good time, there was a few laughs along the way as well as the scary bits!

Finishing on a high!

To finish the festival off we had our MacMillan Cancer Support Coffee Morning! We are happy to announce we raised a total of £295.  We are delighted with the total and we have our visitors support to thank for that.

 

Its a Thank You from us!

We would like to thank everyone who supported us for our festival of events for Orange Heritage Week.  To all our visitors who attended your support is very much appreciated.

 

 

 

 

Orange Heritage Week 2018 21st – 28th September

Orange Heritage Week 2018 21st – 28th September

 Orange Heritage Week 2018 – Celebrating Orange Heritage in the Orange Citadel

 

Portadown Heritage Tours are pleased to announce the launch of their new festival of events ‘Celebrating Orange Heritage in the Orange Citadel’ for Orange Heritage Week from 21st – 28th September 2018.  Portadown is known as the Orange Citadel because of its rich Orange Heritage and the formation of the first organised Orange District which set the precedent for all future Districts and Grand Lodge.  Orange Heritage Week was launched in 2017 by The Grand Lodge of Ireland as an opportunity for all communities to learn and celebrate Orange Heritage throughout the Country.  It covers Diamond Day to Covenant Day.

Portadown Heritage Tours are hosting lots of events throughout the festival suitable for the whole community.

 Friday 21st September

There will be two audio tours of Carleton Street Orange Hall.  The hall has recently been fitted with iBeacon technology for audio tours which is the first of its kind in any tourist building in Northern Ireland.  The Technology works through The Portadown Heritage Tours App which is available to download on Android and Apple devices.  The audio tours are available at 14:30 and 19:00, iPads are provided for the Audio Tour, but booking is essential.

Saturday 22nd September

There will be a Kids Treasure Trail at Carleton Street Orange Hall at 14:00.  This is suitable for ages five and above, but younger children are more than welcome to come and join the fun.  This particular event is proving to be very popular, so booking is essential.

Monday 24th September – Friday 28th September,

Will see the launch of our three exhibitions in Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre.  Exhibitions are open 10:00-15:00 , they include Drumcree: 20 years on, Portadown Orangemen on the Western Front and also Orange & Industry.  Also, between 19:00 and 20:00, Star of David Accordion Band will be hosting an open concert and from 20:15 there will be a talk by Robert Wallace, Historian and WDM of Portadown Royal Black, on the ‘Williamite wars in the European Context’.  There is no booking required for these events.

Tuesday 25th September

Robert Wallace will be back to give another talk this time on ‘The Houses of Orange’, which will look at the palaces of William and Mary.  This talk begins at 20:15 and no booking is required.

Wednesday 26th September and Thursday 27th September

There will also be a Town Walking Tour leaving Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre at 19:00 on Wednesday 26th September and Thursday 27th September at 20:00 will see the return of our Ghost Tour.  Once again these are very popular events and booking is essential.  The Ghost Tours will be running twice a week during the month of October in the run up to Halloween.

Friday 28th September

Portadown Heritage Tours will also be hosting a Macmillan Cancer Support Coffee morning on Friday 28th September between 10:00 and 12:30 at Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre and everyone is welcome!

For bookings contact the Portadown Heritage Tours office on 38332010 or out of hours number 07928962608.  Also email shout@portadownheritagetours.co.uk or find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram or online www.portadownheritagetours.co.uk.  Portadown Heritage Tours is supported through PEACE IV funding.

 

 

Drumcree: 20 years on Film show and Exhibition

Drumcree: 20 years on Film show and Exhibition

Drumcree: 20 years on

Portadown Orange District LOL 1 in association with Portadown Heritage Tours and Carleton Street Heritage Centre are hosting an Exhibition and film show ‘Drumcree:  twenty years on’ to mark twenty years since the banning of the return parade from Drumcree.

Photo credit: Portadown Heritage Tours

Where did it all begin?

The July anniversary Church parade to Drumcree is the oldest Orange Church Parade in the world.  This fact alone gives a great sense of pride to Portadown Orange District.  The parade first took place in 1807 a mere decade after the formation of the Orange Institution in 1795 a few miles away in Loughgall, which is hosting the annual County Armagh twelfth Celebrations this year.

 

Changing Demographics

Demographic Changes to the traditionally known Portadown area of ‘The Walk’ including Parkmount and Victoria Terrace meant the parade was first stopped on its return journey in 1995 and by 1998 it was stopped completely. This period of time and the Siege of Drumcree years saw Portadown become headline news worldwide as thousands gathered on ‘the Hill’.

 

Routes and approaches

Portadown Orange District LOL 1 continue to have a protest every Sunday against the Parades Commission determination that they are banned.  Although Portadown District have tried numerous approaches to various organisations to have a talks process with residents of the area to resolve the issues surrounding the parade.  There has been a negative response to Portadown Districts efforts at mediation.

 

Everyone welcome to the exhibition and film show

The exhibition and film show will be the largest ever showcase of archives on display from the Drumcree years following the story through past, present and future.  This exhibition and film show is open to everyone as an opportunity to learn and explore the events of the Drumcree years and a chance for visitors to see the story first hand rather than the medias perception.

Photo Credit: Portadown Heritage Tours

The Exhibition and film show will start on Monday 2nd July and will run until Saturday 7th July.  It will be held in Carleton Street Heritage Centre located within Carleton Street Orange Hall.  It will be open each weeknight from 7pm-9pm and 2pm-4pm on Saturday.  Each night will see a different film on show these will include; Drumcree 1995, Drumcree 1996, Behind Orange Lines, Drumcree 1997, Drumcree 1998 and The Café on the Hill.  The exhibition room will also be open at the same time for visitors to explore the archives and items on display. Follow Portadown Heritage Tours on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for the latest details.

Also search Portadown Orange District LOL 1 on Facebook and Twitter or check out the district website http://www.portadowndistrictlolno1.co.uk

Photo credit: Portadown Heritage Tours

 

King William III Prince of Orange and the symbolism of a Ceramic White Horse.

King William III Prince of Orange and the symbolism of a Ceramic White Horse.

In what history has coined the ‘Glorious Revolution’ William of Orange invaded Brixham, Southwest England on 5th November 1688.

He Stepped ashore proclaiming:

“The liberties of England and the Protestant faith I will maintain.”

On 28th December 1688 William made a triumphant march into London ending the reign of King James II.

Meaning of the White Horse

In the painting of King William III Prince of Orange he is portrayed on a White horse.  The painting shows him landing in Brixham on 5th November 1688. Although it is thought William didn’t own a white horse at that time. The painter probably painted William on a white horse as the white horse symbolises the heavens, justice and holiness endowed with sacred status. In this context, the white is used to signify Kingship.

Meaning of the Ceramic White Horse

After the Battle of the Boyne William is again portrayed crossing the Boyne on a white horse. Individuals who supported the king showed their allegiance to him by placing ceramic white horses in their homes, especially in the windows above their front doors.  This practice was carried on into the twentieth century.

 

WorldHost trained Community Tour Guides

WorldHost trained Community Tour Guides

WorldHost Training

Portadown Heritage Tours community tour guides received their WorldHost certificates this week from Stephen Bill of Tourism NI.  This was part of an 18 month training programme which was done under the guidance and mentoring of Ballymena based company Brilliant Trails.  http://www.brillianttrails.com

Our WorldHost training was provided by the team at Customer Sense Training and Consultancy, a locally based company in Craigavon. http://www.customersensetraining.co.uk

The Tours

Portadown Heritage Tours officially launched in August 2017. This has led to the development of a number of tours around the local Portadown area. Inncluding the Portadown Town Walking Tour, Tour of Carleton Street Orange Hall and the Siege of Drumcree Tour.  We have more in development.  We aim to boost local historical education and bring tourism to the local area.  At the minute our community tour guides are all members of the Loyal Orders, we welcome everyone onboard.  As an organisation we are keen to promote cross community and new community relations.

We have all grew up in the local Portadown area and along the tour routes you’ll hear lots of stories from days of yore in the town, including a bit of folklore that has been passed down the generations and offers a bit of craic along the way.

We are publishing an event programme in the near future. Book a tour online at www.portadownheritagetours.co.uk