Category Archives: Portadown arches

Portadown Arches: South Street

Portadown Arches: South Street

South Street Arch Unveiled

An Arch was unveiled in South Street on 11th August 1933.  Sir Knight and Brother R H Bell, District Master of Portadown Royal Black District Chapter, presided over the ceremony.  The Arch was described as “a beautiful piece of work carried out entirely by voluntary labour”.  The woodwork was made by Mr James R McCullough and the painting was completed by Mr John Rowe.  There was a team of volunteers who helped complete the Arch; Mr R Wright, Mr D Wright, Mr S Wright, (three brothers who served in the Great War), Mr James Flanagan, Mr Joshua Jones, Mr Sydney Black, Mr Alfred Hutchinson and Mr Albert Magee.

The Arch was painted to bear the words; ‘Death before submission: Derry, Aughrim, Enniskillen and The Boyne’ and ‘Fear God Honour the King.’

The Opening

The residents of South Street had decorated South Street and Hanover Street with flags and bunting.  A large crowd gathered around a platform which was beside the Arch.

A parade procession of Apprentice Boys, led by Corcrain Conservative Prize Band, marched from Carleton Street Orange Hall.  The parade was headed by Brother John Hughes (President of the Parent Club), Brother W J Johnston (President of the Mitchelbourne Club), Brother Thomas Shanks (President of the Browning Club), Brother R Barnes (Secretary of the Mitchelbourne Club), Brother W Wilson (Vice President of the Mitchelbourne Club) and Brother W J Cardwell (Past Master of Hamilton District, Ontario).

In a speech by Brother R Bell, he stated that the ‘Apprentice Boys were as determined as the men of 1688 to resist any attempt to put them under the rule of their enemies’ and he hoped ‘the younger generation would not be lacking when called to defend their father land, their faith and their king’.

The Arch was then unveiled by Brother W J Johnston, who was one of the oldest Apprentice Boys present. Brother Johnston congratulated the local people on the ‘Magnificent Arch’ and said he had ‘never seen anything more appropriate’.  Continuing his speech, he went on to say that; ‘The Arch is a credit to the District, and he greatly appreciated the honour they had done him in inviting him along that evening.  He hoped they would always have it to span that thoroughfare on each succeeding 12th August and 12th July’.

Act of Remembrance

The opening ceremony of the Arch was closed with the band playing the National Anthem.  The procession reformed and marched, via Thomas Street, to the War Memorial.  At the War Memorial a wreath was laid in memory of the fallen of the Great War.  It was laid by the Presidents of the three Apprentice Boys Clubs; Brother Hughes, Brother Johnston and Brother Shanks.

There was a large crowd present. An act of remembrance followed and Bugler R Wright, who had served with the Royal Irish Rifles in the Great War, sounded the Last Post and Reveille.  The band led the singing of the National Anthem.  The Bells of St Marks Church played ‘Abide With Me’ and ‘Auld Lang Syne’.  The Crimson Banner of the Apprentice Boys of Derry flew from the tower of the church.

South Street Arch- Children of the Street with A Billy Lundy

 

Portadown Arches: Carleton Street

Portadown Arches: Carleton Street

 Carleton Street: David Rock Memorial Arch

In July 1939 the David Rock Memorial Arch was unveiled in Carleton Street.  Sir William Allen and Lady Allen were present.  There was a large gathering in the street and the Arch was unveiled by Mrs S A McDonald, JP, Cranagil.  Sir William Allen DSO, MP presided.

The Arch was described as an “imposing structure which is a credit to the designers, and is a worthy perpetuation of the memory of Brother Rock”.

 

Opening of the David Rock Memorial Arch in Carleton Street

David Rock

David Rock was one of the most distinguished men to have held office in Portadown District LOL No.1.  He held the position of District Secretary. He also served as Worshipful Master of his Lodge, Prince of Wales LOL 56.  He was Deputy Grand Master of Ireland.  He was also Worshipful Master of Carrickblacker Guiding Star RBP 503 and Deputy District Master of Portadown Royal Black District Chapter No.5.

 

David Rock MBE JP

 

David was a leading citizen in Portadown.  He topped the voting polls on many occasions in the Portadown Urban District Council elections.  He also served as Chairman of Portadown Urban District Council for several years and worked tirelessly on behalf of both communities.

His greatest contribution to Portadown was in the early 1920’s at the time of Partition.  The IRA launched a terrorist offensive across Ulster.  This affected many large towns.  David was a Senior Officer in the Ulster Special Constabulary and maintained strict discipline over his men.

When four Portadown ‘A’ Specials were kidnapped by the IRA at the border, David led patrols of Specials to prevent reprisals against the Nationalist Community.  Negotiations between Unionist leaders and Orange leaders, including David Rock, and the IRA resulted in the four Specials being released unharmed.

A leading Nationalist member of Portadown Urban District Council paid tribute to David saying “David Rock had more than anyone kept the peace in Portadown”.  This was echoed by Joe Devlin Nationalist MP for West Belfast at a function in Portadown in 1923.

Under David Rock’s leadership, the Orange Order in Portadown flourished, with a number of new lodges being formed.  David Rock died on 16th October 1937 and thousands attended his funeral at St Saviours The Dobbin.

David Rock’s headstone reads “A noble and unselfish example of a true Orangeman”.

An imposing and handsome structure

Surmounted by three Gothic Arches, the structure was completed with symbols of the Orange and Black Institutions.  An open Bible occupied a prominent position and the memorial attribute was indicated in a black and white finish.  There were two photographs of Brother Rock, which were taken by Brother W J Moffett, in the centre of the structure.  One portrayed him as an Orangeman and the other as a Sir Knight.

 

“The people of Carleton Street are making a ‘strong pull’ to have their new arch erected in good time for the ‘Twelfth’, and we understand that it will be really worthy memorial to the late Brother David Rock, MBE JP, in the street in which he spent such a big part of his life”.

– Portadown Times April 1939

Valuable Help

Orange Lodges and Royal Black Perceptories gave valuable help towards the Arch.  Funds for the arch was raised through subscriptions.

Below is listed the subscriptions made by Lodges and Perceptories.  The subscriptions were published in newspapers at the time.

  • LOL 56 -£3 3s
  • LOL127- 5s
  • LOL 31- 5s
  • LOL 99- 5s
  • LOL 273 -5s
  • LOL 417 -5s
  • LOL 58 -10s
  • RBP 466- 10s 6d
  • RBP 744- 10s
  • RBP 199- 5s
  • RBP 267- 5s

Sadly, the Carleton Street Arch was erected only once.  The 2nd World War broke out in September 1939 and the Arch was put into storage.  There are no records available as to what happened the Arch after the 2nd World War.

Portadown Arches: Parkmount and Corcrain

Portadown Arches: Parkmount and Corcrain

An Arch to be proud of: Parkmount

It is believed an arch was first opened in Parkmount in the 1920’s, although it could have been earlier. It stood at the junction of Park Road and Water Street.

 

Parkmount Flute Band under the Arch in approximately the 1920’s

Parkmount Arch 1945

The second Parkmount Arch was opened in July 1945.  Many leading members of Portadown District LOL No. 1 were present including Brother Herbert Whitten who presided over the opening ceremony and Brother R J Magowan who acted as Chairman.  Brother George Dougan, who was a well respected Doctor of the town, as well as the Portadown District Master at the time, switched on the lights at the official ceremony.

Dr Dougan received acclamation during the opening ceremony of the arch on his recent election victory.  In turn he thanked the crowd and paid tribute to the members of Parkmount Flute Band who had rendered assistance during the campaign.  George Dougan was MP for central Armagh.  He was elected to Stormont in March 1941, replacing David Graham Shillington.

 

Parkmount Arch 

 

The Present Arch

The present Parkmount Arch has been refurbished and repainted many times as it has been attacked by republicans. The latest refurbishment took place in 2014, one side of the Arch reads ‘In memory of the Parkmount Community’ while the other side reads ‘In Memory of Bro Ivan Forbes’, who was a tireless worker for the Arch.

 

 

 

 

An Arch of the Past: Corcrain

The Corcrain Arch was officially opened in June 1937.  It was a magnificent structure of wood and steel, and the decorations were described as ‘artistic’.  The sixty foot span was comprised of three arch-ways which harmonised in colour and size.  The arch contained various symbols of the Orange and Black Orders.

The Arch was completed by Mr Fred Mccullough of Corcrain and Mr A Murphy carried out the painting.  Members of the Arch Committee were; Mr John Wright Junior, Mr Thomas Gilpin, Mr William Thompson, Mr David Hamill, Mr Robert Burns and Mr James Fleming.

Corcrain Arch

The Opening

A large parade of Orangemen, including the Junior Orange, were led by Corcrain Flute Band who provided the music throughout the ceremony. The opening was performed by Mrs Woods under the Chairmanship of Brother David Rock.

David Rock MBE JP held office in Portadown District LOL NO 1 and was a member of LOL 56.  He had been a District Commandant of the Ulster Special Constabulary in Portadown.

Portadown Arches: Mourneview Street and Queen Street

Portadown Arches: Mourneview Street and Queen Street

The Arches of Mouneview Street and Queen Street provide a great sense of pride and community to local residents.  One thing that has become clear through our journey of discovering the heritage of the local Arches, is the amount of time and effort local residents give to the Arches. The members of the different Arches committees’ throughout the town deserve a lot of recognition for maintaining this great tradition.

Mourneview Street Arch Official Opening

Mourneview Street Arch was unveiled in July 1939 by Sir Knight Alex Adair, District Master of Portadown Royal Black Chapter. The majority of the arch was designed and constructed by Mr Wilson Binks.  The old English lettering of the inscriptions and the glass panels were completed by Mr Joseph Wright.  During the speeches at the opening, both men where congratulated on their success.

The weather conditions were particularly poor for the opening ceremony.  But that did not dampen the spirits of over 1000 people who gathered to witness the official opening.

Portadown Pipe Band and Edgarstown Accordion Band provided the music for the evening. The proceedings of the evening was led by Sir Knight and Brother R J Magowan, Worshipful Master of Edenderry LOL 322.

“It’s Lovely!”

“Isn’t it nice!”

“The Colouring and lettering are beautiful”

‘These exclamations are typical of what a bystander heard at the unveiling of Mourneview Street Arch on Thursday evening last’.

Portadown Times 14th July 1939

 

It is interesting and very appropriate to note that no fewer than nine members of the committee had the first name William; William Baxter, William (Billy) Cooper, William (Billy) Whitten Junior, William Taylor, William (Billy) Magee, William Baxter Junior, William McKeown, William Power Senior and William Power Junior.

The other members of the committee were Teddy Grimason, Arthur Magee, George Whitten, George Hodgen and George Magee.

Queen Street Arch

In 1983, a few of the local residents on the street had the idea of erecting their own Arch at the Thomas Street entrance.  A Committee was formed and a collection was made in the neighbourhood.  Planning permission was requested and granted.

An arch shed was built to store the Arch throughout the year.  The building of the shed was done on a voluntary basis mainly by Mr Paul Trouton, Mr Trevor Bonis, Mr Brian Beattie and a few others.

The Arch was sourced from the Derryadd area; one that was no longer in use.  It was then adapted in size as the steel was too short.  The steel poles were made to measure locally. The wooden structure was built to suit by residents from the street; mainly Mr Paul Trouton and Mr Trevor Bonis.

It was then painted by local residents Mr Paul Trouton, Mr Trevor Bonis and Mr Brian Beattie.  The artwork was completed by Mr Neville Austin and the electric work was completed by Mr George Trouton.  The lettering was done by a local sign-writer Mr Bracken Anderson.

Official Opening

The Queen Street Arch was officially opened on 28th June 1985 by local MP Mr Harold McCusker and dedicated by the Reverend Tom Taylor.

Portadown Defenders Flute Band provided the music during the opening ceremony and a reception was held in the Trouton Household for the dignitaries.

Maintaining the Arch

The Arch was maintained for the first fifteen years by a collection from the residents of the street, but unfortunately due to the change in the population of the area this became unfeasible.

The Arch has been put up each year since with the goodwill of the Trouton family and friends and with the kind help of The Beattie family; who look after the shed and supply the electricity.  It has been refurbished a number of times during its almost thirty five year existence.

 

Portadown Arches: Derryanvil

Portadown Arches: Derryanvil

Derryanvil Arch is located under a mile from Drumcree Parish Church.  As it is in the countryside of Portadown, it is often forgot and overlooked when it comes to the Arches of Portadown.  But the local rural community in the area are very proud of “their wee arch”.

Original Arch

An early arch was originally erected near Derrycarne Orange Hall.  According to the older generation of the area, the last time it had been up, was sometime in the 1930’s.  The old arch had been a wooden structure and was originally stored in Mr George Robinson’s hay shed.

Derrycarne Orange Hall

“It’s time we had an arch again”

In the winter of 1962, Alex Hyde and William Dillworth had a conversation about the old arch.  It was decided they would paint and restore the old arch and put it up the next July. The decision was made that instead of putting it up at the old location on the Derrycarne Road , it would be moved 2 miles to the small community at Derryanvil Crescent.  In July 1962 it was erected at the new location.  It was very much a community effort with Mr Tom Troughton and neighbours all involved.

New Arch

The Following year, in 1963, the community decided they would invest in a new metal frame arch as the old wooden arch was falling in to disrepair. Mr Tom Troughton made a new frame from box metal.  Mr William Dillworth was a great artist and he was able to draw the symbols needed for the arch.  William knew of a gentleman named Albert Drummond who was skilled at cutting figures out of sheet metal.  Once the symbols were cut, they went back to William who painted them in preparation for going on the Arch.

Opening of the New Arch

The new arch was opened on 2nd July 1963 by Herbert Whitten.  Mr Whitten was a member of the Orange Order and Royal Black Institution.  He was Worshipful Master of Portadown District LOL NO.1 from 1968 until his death in 1981.  He also held the office of Deputy Grand Master of Ireland and was Worshipful District Master of Portadown Royal Black District Chapter No.5 in the early 1960’s.

Mr Whiitten was elected to Portadown Borough Council in 1968 and was MP for Central Armagh at Stormont from 1969 until 1972.  He held office of Mayor in Portadown Borough Council from 1968-1969 and was Mayor of Craigavon Borough Council from 1977 until 1978.  He was a founding member of Portadown Housing Association and was Managing Director of T A Shillington and Sons from 1955 until his retirement in 1979.

The music for the opening of the arch was provided by Pride of the Birches Accordion Band.  The refreshments were served by the ladies of Derryanvil Crescent who had all come together to make and provide sandwiches, cakes, buns and tea.

Continuing Tradition

The Arch was improved each year by adding new metal symbols from Albert Drummond and William Dillworth.  A bonfire was originally part of the celebrations on the 11th night.  It was located in a nearby field until new bungalows were built.  The Bonfire was then moved  to the rear of Derryanvil Crescent in the 1980’s.

Unfortunately, with Derryanvill Crescent being located under a mile from Drumcree Parish Church, the annual bonfire had to be stopped in 1996 due to the stand off at Drumcree.

Drumcree Parish Church

The arch was unable to go up for two years during the early 2000’s this was due to insurance issues.  This was overcome when Derrycarne Bible and Crown Defenders LOL 78 stepped in and provided the insurance costs.

The final metal attachment was made by Albert Drummond.  It is the Bible and Crown located in the centre of the arch. It was painted by William Dillworth.  Sadly, Mr Drummond died shortly after making the Bible and Crown.

The Arch is erected every year at Derryanvil Crescent.  There is a strong unionist and Orange community in the local area including; Derryanvil, Derrycarne and Derrymacfall.  That community is very proud to have the arch displayed as a long standing tradition of their beliefs and culture.