Apprentice Boys of Derry Exhibition
A new Exhibition has arrived at Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre. The pop up exhibition explores the history of the formation of the Apprentice Boys of Derry. The Exhibition is kindly on loan from the Siege Museum, based in Londonderry.
The Siege Museum
The Siege Museum was officially opened in March 2016 and is dedicated to commemorating the history of the Siege of Londonderry 1688-89 and the cultural heritage of the Associated Clubs of the Apprentice Boys of Derry. There is tours available of the Siege Museum. It contains three modern galleries which are packed with exciting stories of endurance, defiance, adventure and the legendary bravery of the 13 young apprentice boys!
Apprentice Boys Portadown
Carleton Street Orange Hall is home to the Apprentice Boys of Derry Portadown Branch Club. The exhibition is a chance to explore memorabilia of the Apprentice Boys and also discover the history behind their formation. Along the way there is also the opportunity to explore the history of the Siege of Londonderry.
The Exhibition is open at Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre for the month of March. It is open Monday to Thursday 9:00-16:15, Friday 9:00-13:15 and Tuesday evening 19:30-20:30. This is a family friendly exhibition with activities for the kids also available. Exhibition booklets are also available, free of charge.
Tours of Carleton Street Orange Hall and Heritage Centre
Our usual daily tours of the Orange Hall are also available during the exhibition. Guided tours or audio tours are both available. This tour is the perfect opportunity to learn more about the history and heritage of Orangeism in Portadown. Carleton Street Orange Hall has been at the heart of Portadown since 1875. For more information contact firstname.lastname@example.org or call the office on 028 38332010.
We Brought Orange Heritage Home to the Orange Citadel!
Futures Bright for Orange Heritage
Orange Heritage Week saw the release of our audio tours, using i-Beacon technology, the first of its kind in any tourist building in Northern Ireland.
The kids treasure trail was a big success and proved that Orange Heritage Week can be enjoyed by all ages. The kids were given free rain of the hall and they throughly enjoyed their time exploring it and discovering a little bit of history along the way. They enjoyed finding the treasure and their party afterwards with juice and treats.
Release of our Exhibitions
We had three Exhibitions open during Orange Heritage Week. These included Portadown Orangemen on the Western Front, Orange & Industry and Drumcree: 20 Years on. The exhibitions displayed local history and its connections to Orange Heritage within the town. Love it or hate it, theres no doubt about it, Orange Heritage runs deep into the history of Portadown. The exhibitions took a while to get through, with visitors coming back over a couple of days to explore them.
Band Performances & Public Talks
We would like to say a big thank you to Star of David Accordion band for their open concert they performed on the Monday night. It showcased the week nicely, highlighting the importance of music throughout Orange Heritage. Also a big thank you to Historian Robert Wallace for his two very interesting talks on ‘The Williamite Wars in the European Context’ and ‘The Palaces of William and Mary’. Both proved a very good insight into the beginnings of the Orange Culture and history. Link Below for a short video of the bands performance.
Spooky Times Ahead..
We have Ghost Tours running throughout October! To kick those of we had our first Ghost Tour of the season during Orange Heritage Week. This proved very popular and we hope everyone had a good time, there was a few laughs along the way as well as the scary bits!
Finishing on a high!
To finish the festival off we had our MacMillan Cancer Support Coffee Morning! We are happy to announce we raised a total of £295. We are delighted with the total and we have our visitors support to thank for that.
Its a Thank You from us!
We would like to thank everyone who supported us for our festival of events for Orange Heritage Week. To all our visitors who attended your support is very much appreciated.
Few other instruments can match the Lambeg drum for size and sheer volume. This Impressive percussion instrument is unique to the province of Ulster, and its not made anywhere else. It is in fact the largest double-sided rope tension drum in the world, and is thought to be the loudest folk instrument on the planet! The Lambeg drum is perhaps most usually associated with the Orange tradition, where it is often used to accompany marchers on parade. However drumming matches and competitions are held independently by drumming clubs the length and breadth of the province.
The true origin of the Lambeg drum remains unknown, as there is very little historical evidence documenting this instrument. However, the mystery surrounding its creation has given rise to many different folklores, which have become as much a part of the Lambeg drumming tradition as the music itself.
There are several different theories surrounding the origins of the Lambeg drum, one such theory explains the title ‘Lambeg’ suggests the drum was first built in the village of Lambeg, near Lisburn. Another popular theory is that the drums were first beaten with canes at a meeting in Lambeg in the 1870’s. Some argue that the drum was first introduced by continental Williamite soldiers in the summer of 1690, and that the drum was played by these troops whilst camped at Lambeg enrolee from Carrickfergus to the Battle of the Boyne.
Another prominent story in Lambeg folklore connected to the Battle of the Boyne explains the uniquee rhythms that are traditionally played on the drum. Legend has it that King William’s drummer boy had fallen asleep after eating a supper consisting of bread. An opportunist Wren flew down and began to peck at the crumbs lying on the drum head. The noise caused the boy to wake form his sleep just in time to discover the camp was under attack. He was then able to raise the alarm in time to prevent defeat.
Goat skins from female ‘nanny’ goats are preferred for drum heads, as they tend to be lighter and cleaner skin, making them easier to work with than a male or ‘Billy’ goat hide.
Portadown provided cider for King William’s army during its campaign which ended in victory over James II and his men at the Boyne. Records show that the Rev. William Brooke who was rector of Drumcree from 1679 until his death in 1700, wrote an account of the barony in 1682, from which it was learned that good cider was available in Portadown at thirty shillings a hogshead.
From the same source it was gathered that the farmers of Portadown district were compelled by their leases to plant apple trees proportionate to the quality of their land. In 1690, King William’s cider maker Paul Le Harper was sent to Portadown with the necessary equipment to make cider for the Williamite Army. Harper was a Huguenot, a member of the Protestant faith in France who were persecuted for their religion and forced to emigrate to other countries.
Lord Drogheda, who commanded a Williamite regiment stationed at Tandragee, part of which was quartered in Portadown had recorded that there was much cider there in the spring of 1690. It is remarkable that so many apple trees in North Armagh had escaped the ravages of the 1641 rebellion, when farm houses and houses of English Protestant settlers were being destroyed.