The Lord Carson Memorial Arch was erected in West Street in the Edgarstown area of Portadown. It was unveiled and dedicated on the 10th July 1937 by major D.G. Shillington. It was proudly displayed every year for the twelfth of July celebrations until Edgarstown was redeveloped in the 1970’s.
The main centre piece of the arch was a delicate stain glass window in memory of Lord Carson. It was fortunate that this was saved by a local resident and once again became the focal point of the new arch which was erected in 1982. Once again the arch stood proudly for the twelfth of July celebrations for a number of years until it fell down in a bad storm.
The stain glass window was saved with just one small pane of glass broken. It can now be seen mounted on the front of Carleton Street Orange Hall.
The original arch from 1937 and below the arch which was erected in 1982